Spain And The Netherlands 2010 World Cup Final Results

Who won the 2010 World Cup final in South Africa? Spain became the 2010 World Cup champion after Andres Iniesta hit a dramatic winner in the 116th minute of extra time. Spainís delicate touch overcame the rough house tactics employed by the Dutch. The 2010 World Cup football final was a tense and bad-tempered match that produced 14 yellow cards with Hollandís Johnny Heitinga sent off in the 109th minute after picking up a second yellow card. Overall, the final 2010 World Cup result was justified as Spain was definitely the better team although Arjen Robben could have put Holland in the lead if he had converted a one-on-one chance.

With Spain and Holland heading for a penalty shootout in a game of few clear chances, Iniesta struck to give the Euro 2008 champions the lead. It was from a through ball by Arsenalís Cesc Fabregas that midfielder Iniesta struck making Spain the first team to win a World Cup after losing their opening game of the tournament. Holland was lucky not to be a man down after Nigel de Jongís flying karate kick to the chest of Xabi Alonso in the 28th minute was not severely punished by referee Howard Webb.

Were there many 2010 football World Cup records in 2010? A few World Cup records were recorded by Spain on their way to their victory in South Africa. Spain became the only third team after Germany and France to hold both the European Championship and World Cup together. Spain too became the team to win the World Cup by having scored the fewest number of goals. Spain managed to score only eight goals in their seven matches.

Spain is also the first team to win a World Cup after losing their opening game of the FIFA World Cup finals in 2010. Webb got himself into the World Cup record as well when he produced a new record number of bookings for a World Cup final. The starting eleven for Holland in the 2010 World Cup final is Stekelenburg, Van Der Wiel, Heitinga, Mathijsen, Van Bronckhorst, Van Bommel, De Jong, Sneijder, Kuyt, Van Persie and Robben. The final starting eleven in the Spain winning team for the 2010 World Cup final are Casillas, Pique, Puyol, Capdevila, Sergio Ramos, Iniesta, Xavi, Alonso, Busquets, Villa and Pedrito.

A Travel Guide To Asia
posted at 04:31:15 on 07/12/10 by webmaster - Category: Sports
Go Top